PC will not stay running

lujate

I was playing last night, my pc just shut off with no warning. I hit the power button, it came on and had a power light and was hitting the disk drives as expected. Before the display even came up, it shut off again. I opened up the case and used a flashlight to look for obvious flaws but everything looked good. I turned it on with the case still open. All the fans can on and this time I actually got the my Windows desktop. I logged in to the Lobby in order to check on the character I had been playing when it had died. The computer seemed to be running fine. I left it running and went to bed. Got up this morning and it had stopped.

I am no hardware expert, but my #1 suspect is the power supply. What do you hits guys think?

Had some similar troubles way back and for me, it was indeed a PSU, which was at wit's end. Some time things like that could result from overheated processor or gfx-card. Maybe you could test it with programs like Hyper-pi (for processor) and Furmark (for GFX), to see if big load on either of 'em resets the comp. Both are easy to find Googling. It could be them, seeing it refused to start correctly right after the shutdown. For some troubleshooting you could check the bios to see, if some of the voltage displayed are either too high, or low. That could tell if it's the PSU. ex. +12v is something like +10 or so.