Does Battery affect Combat Art Damage?

Hello. I'm new to playing Sacred 2 Ice & Blood on the PC. But I have thousands of hours logged into the PS3 version. With only slightly less time spent on just testing out and researching combat art mods, and skill selections. This forum, the Sacred Wiki, and the S.I.F. have been indispensable in supporting my admiration for this game.

I was hoping some one could enlighten me a little because while Sacred 2 information is fairly prevalent. The changes in Ice & Blood are much more difficult to nail down. Especially coming from the console version.

There are two things I saw today that challenged my understanding of the game mechanics. Playing as the Temple Guardian I equipped a battery with a lava rock socketed into it. For the purpose of converting some of the cannon damage to fire, and then to exploit the powers of damage lore (which has been pointless on the PS3 version.) Any way after the battery was equipped I noticed that my untouchable force buff was displaying 100% fire damage. Not only that but the damage was increased from its original value. Then I noticed that all of his combat arts that I had slotted were the same. Including icy evanescence. After a little testing it looks like the damage type displayed is incorrect, I.e. untouchable force still does magic damage and ice evanescence still does ice damage. However the damage boost does stay. I found that I had additional fire damage +x% equipped in other armor that was increasing the damage of the spells .

Now this contradicts two things that I thought were absolute. One; that the battery did not affect the combat arts in any way. And two; that the elemental damage conversion was done last and only +x% to the original damage type could boost the damage. Is this a new "feature" in Ice & Blood? And if so how far reaching is it? This is on closed net.

Welcome to DarkMatters...