The Plight of the PhD Student - On the Verge of Quitting

*Stands up.* “My name is Justin. I am a Grad Student. Perhaps not for long...”

As many of you may know, I’m currently a Ph.D. student in Cognitive Psychology.

Many people may wonder what grad school is like. Perhaps you have friends or relatives wondering if this is a path for them. Perhaps your own children are debating this future. Perhaps you’re in academia and wondering what the current generation of students think their future looks like.

Grad school is a wonderful place for most grad students. It used to be for me. However, one's dream world can turn into a nightmarish hell very quickly.

What did academia in Canada used to mean?

Working with your heroes. Contributing knowledge to an area that fascinates you. A small financial struggle as a student. Post Doctoral studies where the pay is average. A tenure-track faculty position, which originally requires a lot of pressure to publish but quickly becomes a secure job where you have a lot of freedoms, get to pursue research which is interesting to you (without worry if it fails), and to shape the researchers of the future.

What does academia in Canada mean now?

The above, only a longer Post Doctoral studies with a lower than average pay...and now a lower chance of a tenure-track faculty position (as there is a trend of removing the “job security” aspect from new faculty positions, in order to reap the productivity benefits of the “publish a lot or we fire you” mentality).

However, what happens to those who aren’t like “most grad students”. Allow me to share my experiences over the past few months with you.