As some of you - especially those who visited the SIF when Sacred: Underworld was "Hot" - might know, I've written some stories over time. Somewhere at the SIF one might find a link to a story based upon S:UW, but it isn't about that I write.

I've been writing stories for over 20 years now, first in Dutch, then in English. A few years after I began writing I contacted several publishers, asking if they were interested in my stories. Most of them didn't reply at all - so far for politeness, eh? - one of them politely denied, telling the kind of story I wrote wasn't what the market would like to see and one publisher asked to see one of my manuscripts. After I mailed it to them, I never got a reply.

So, not long after that, I began writing in English. Partially, because I was hoping I might access the Dutch market, using the English speaking market as back-door; partially because someone mentioned that my posts of a contest I was participating in looked more like a chapter of a book.

The story based upon S:UW was / is the best I achieved so far and despite a lot of comments telling I had to publish it, finding a publisher was almost impossible.

Until November last year, when I got contacted by a publisher from the UK; who seemed to be interested in publishing my S:UW story. That was, until they found out where I was from. Apparently they wouldn't publish if you weren't a UK citizen; which I'm not. Things went even a bit nasty with them, when my contact demanded I paid the consumptions I had when we met, forgetting I had paid a lot more for the ticket and hotel room, since the meeting was in London. And all just to hear they won't publish my story. Something that could've been done by mail as well. (Minor reminder: never attack a Dutch person's wallet. You'll pay dearly for it [pun intended])