Regen Times - Regarding Game Mechanics

So I started playing Sacred 2 a few weeks back, been hovering around the forums picking up whatever game tips I can glean. It's all good, but I've been fighting the search engine all morning and so I'm just throwing some questions out to the older players.

Are there any good game mechanics resources around? I'm trying to find how things work under the hood, so to speak.

Casting Speed

Are there any "break points" to hit if it is based on animation frames like in Diablo2? Is there anywhere that shows you the base cast time on spells? Are all casts based on the same speed, meaning your minimum regen time to aim for is going to be the same for all spells and will only vary according to your cast speed?

I noticed with my high elf that when her fireball regen got down to like 0.4s, she couldn't cast anywhere near that quick. From my "fire a few off and count in my head" (spectacularly accurate, I know) method, it seemed that with my current bonus to cast speed, she was taking around 0.8 seconds to cast it. So, I read a couple runes to bring my listed regen time up to 0.7s. Looks to me she's firing them out just as fast, but now with more oomph. Maybe I am totally off the mark here with spells, but I'm guessing I should be trying to keep my regen as close to my cast speed as possible (once I find out what my cast speed is :))?

Regen times - the big one.

Is there a diminishing return on -regen modifiers?

Is there anything that increases regen times, other than eating runes?

Is there any way to see what the "base" regen time is for a skill, other than stripping off naked with a level 1 skill-less character and scribbling down the regen time after reading 1 rune?

How exactly are they calculated? It's certainly not intuitive.