I am new to the game help

Both classes cover a wide field of possible builds: both can be played as fighters, archers, casters, .....

You can look in the guide section for a build which you like. But most guides there are highly optimized builds. I do not know of a collection of builds which are designed to test most of a class before you decide to go for a highly optimized character.

In nearly one year playing sacred2 I did only 3 classes above level 25 because lack of time. To be able to discuss sacred2 with my kids, friends or here in forum I did characters which sacrifice some damage for more flexibility, so I could try out several ideas in a single character.

The character I made for my 11 year old daughter to try out several elves: The Shield Maiden

My Dryad to test out nearly all a Combat Arts: The Witch: Vodoo, Alchemy and a cauldron

The 3rd character is a riding dragon mage with alchemy in the (german) AddON.

Edited by chattius
if anyone could I help I have been debating on whether or not to make a high elf or a serp help with be great

Honestly, I think the way to go is to try things out with your first few characters, just to get a feel for the game, different play styles and CAs. Don't worry about making an optimal character or planning for higher levels, at first.

Along the way you can accumulate some runes and items in your shared chest, to help out your future characters. You'll quickly have a whole bunch of extra ones and can start going to the runemaster to convert them into CAs you want to try out.

Just keep in mind that many of the CAs that seem terribly slow will get faster and/or more powerful as you level. Low-level characters tend to use the plain left-click weapon attack a lot more than higher level ones.