Jump to content


Photo

Sacred LAN Gameservers available


40 replies to this topic

#1 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 07 March 2011 - 01:43 PM

Sacred VPN Lan Games Available
Download Wippien (open source vpn client)
Install,
Create an Account

Go to Add Contact,
add SacredOpen@wippien.com
Presto!

Next time you go into Sacred Underworld, check the Local Network games section, and you should see 5 Free Play Game Servers (one for each difficulty band).

The Servers are monitored by a Process Watchdog, will be restarted within 10 seconds etc if they ever crash, and the server content itself reboots when all players leave the server.

Servers will be up 24/7 for anyone to play on them.
So far, got about 5 players registered on the vpn.

Servers are hosted in England in a Datacenter, of course ping will depend on your location in relation to the datacenter.

Edited by Baaleos, 08 March 2011 - 04:49 AM.


#2 Dragon Brother

 

    Sacred 2 Site Guru

  • FDM Moderator
  • 5,841 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Real Name:Ashley
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 07 March 2011 - 03:45 PM

Thats cool. Been a while since I played Underworld. Don't know if I should be installing another game now that its uni time though...
My Signature

#3 Knuckles

 

    Grand Poobah

  • Site Moderator
  • 5,000 posts
  • Location:Cape Cod Mass. USA
  • Real Name:Robb
  • Platform:PC
  • Steam Name:Knuckles (Robb)

 

Posted 07 March 2011 - 04:27 PM

I know several people still play Underworld and this has to be a nice present to be able to play on-line again - finally. Sure we'll have members trying this out. Thank you for posting all the details

p.s. welcome to the forums :D
My Signature

#4 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 07 March 2011 - 08:24 PM

I know several people still play Underworld and this has to be a nice present to be able to play on-line again - finally. Sure we'll have members trying this out. Thank you for posting all the details

p.s. welcome to the forums :D



This is just incase anyone has any problems seeing the servers via Local Network connection (LAN Via Wippien)


Try the following.



When Wippien is open,

Click on Settings,

Go To Network,

Set the Network Settings to be

Gateway = 5.0.0.1 (ticked)

IP Address = 5.3.154.x (x can be your own number 1-254)

Netmask = 255.0.0.0



Also set the Radio Button to Obtain from IP Provider Database.

And fill in the edit box with the following information

http://www.wippien.com/ip/?jid=xxxx



Where xxxx = your wippien address eg - Baaleos@wippien.com

The IP Provider allows the wippien servers to manage the ip allocation.







Once you are sure you have all these settings set, try right clicking on SacredOpen in wippien, and try to ping.

If the ping succeeds, there is a good chance the Sacred Servers will show up.



If not, then check your windows firewall, or third party firewall. You must allow Wippien access to the outside world, as well as sacred.

#5 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 07 March 2011 - 08:29 PM

Note - I just did an experiment - I was still able to see the servers when my Home Computer was set to 5.3.153.x and the server was on 5.3.154.x

Its possible we only need to worry about the 5.3.x.x part.

After changing the ip address, you must restart wippien.

#6 gogoblender

 

    Dark Sun Guardian

  • Administrator
  • 28,164 posts
  • Location:Montreal,Quebec, Canada
  • Real Name:Rommel
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 07 March 2011 - 08:35 PM

Thanks Baaleos for bring this topic over to FDM. It's a good resource you are offering for players.

Welcome to DarkMatters!

:)

gogo
My Signature

#7 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 09 March 2011 - 11:49 AM

Got about 9 players subscribed to the servers now.

I'm also developing a new project that will allow other people to host servers and have them connected together.

Eg 10 physical machines with gameservers, they are automatically added to you're Wippien, and voila, 10 physical machine worths of gameservers available to the public.

#8 gadenh

 

    Leaden Juggernaut

  • New Arrival
  • 2 posts
  • Real Name:Kolio Stefanov
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 11 March 2011 - 11:39 AM

I want to ask why the progress isn't save for the missions :? btw these servers are great I've been searching for such thing for a long time thanks

#9 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 11 March 2011 - 11:48 AM

Its just a guess,
But I think it might be cause the games are set to 'Free Mode'

Which may mean that the quests reset.

#10 gadenh

 

    Leaden Juggernaut

  • New Arrival
  • 2 posts
  • Real Name:Kolio Stefanov
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 11 March 2011 - 12:28 PM

Could you make one campaign server for the original campaigns ?

#11 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 06:38 AM

I've added an extra 5 gameservers for sacred classic campaign.

Will try to get round to adding another 10 for underworld campaign and pvp

#12 stubbie

 

    Carbon Necromancer

  • Members
  • 1,269 posts
  • Location:Sydney, downunder

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 06:49 AM

Please excuse my ignorance with matters when it comes to servers and such, but are any of these servers hardcore? :unsure:
My Signature


#13 Dobster

 

    Chromium Defender

  • Members
  • 297 posts
  • Location:Somerset UK
  • Real Name:Toby
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 06:59 AM

Has anybody managed to get this working with win7 64 bit? doing a bit of reading about Wippien, it seems it doesn't work with it. That would explain why I can't connect :(

#14 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:32 AM

I've added a game server for each gameplay type at each difficulty. All 20 of them are showing now for me and another player who was testing them out for me.

I'm unsure why Dob n llama8 are having problems connecting, it seems to b a Wippien problem specific to them. :-(

#15 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:33 AM

Have u tried comparability mode?

#16 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:36 AM

Hey all, I did a google. Windows 7 64bit does work, it just has some complicated instructions.

http://peer.wippien....opic=1288415825



Sometimes I forget that I am on windows xp 64bit and have had Wippien installed for yonks

#17 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:38 AM

@ stubble
These game servers do not allow for hardcore mode, as the characters are stored on you're own pc.

#18 Dobster

 

    Chromium Defender

  • Members
  • 297 posts
  • Location:Somerset UK
  • Real Name:Toby
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:38 AM

Llama is on XP so it must be some other issue.

All we get is the message "VPN not established yet"

Thanks so much for setting this up Baaleos, hopefully we can figure out whats going wrong.

#19 Baaleos

 

    Master of Antimony

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Real Name:Jonny
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:44 AM

@ Dobster
Are you on a 64bit operating system?

That includes XP64 Bit.


If so, you too will need to use the special instlal instructions to get the wippien adapter/ip address working.

Anyone having connection problems, please post the following.

1. Operating System
2. Are you running Wippien as admin etc
3. Behind a router?
4. If behind a router, are you set up as far as port forwarding and dmz goes?


Note for router users.
Although I dont have any problems with routers and wippien not working together, it may be necessary to set your gaming pc to be on a dmz or to set up portforwarding for port 5222 (wippien login port)

Edited by Baaleos, 13 March 2011 - 09:47 AM.


#20 Dobster

 

    Chromium Defender

  • Members
  • 297 posts
  • Location:Somerset UK
  • Real Name:Toby
  • Platform:PC

 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:47 AM

Hey all, I did a google. Windows 7 64bit does work, it just has some complicated instructions.

http://peer.wippien.com/forum.php?action=view&topic=1288415825


Yay :woot:

Those instructions worked perfectly, thanks mate :thumbsup:



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Skin Designed By Evanescence at IBSkin.com