Active English Community?

I recently downloaded the Gold edition using the links on this site. I realize the game is a couple years old now, but I'm wondering if there's an "active" english speaking community out there somewhere? Should I install the community patch or... when's the best time to play or... is the game just dead?

I played D2 for the longest time. Then I switched to WoW and other things. Until recently I've been playing League of Legends but I'm eagerly awaiting Diablo 3 and wanted to get something similar to hold me over until then. This game seems pretty awesome but my initial impression is that the community is either dead, or never really existed in the same capacity that Diablo 2 did. Is this true?

I am still relatively new to Sacred, but I am afraid it has peaked. I think most of the players still active here play Closed Net, which does not allow the CM patch.

I have never done online gaming, so I am used to playing by myself. I do play Closed Net, but in the few weeks I have been playing, I have played solo except for one night. Last night, most of the people I saw online were German or Italian (?).

HI Deegan, welcome to DarkMatters! when this game was first released, there was a very busy online community in HC where most of this site was playing and still does. The release of the CM Patch has seemed to change a lot of things, and there has been some dallying with a lot of SP and open lately just to try out all the new lightsabres, explosive throw potions, fabulous new sets with the most number of sockets seen in this game, new bosses, and lots and lots of new ways to die :P

There are people still in HC, but all the new goodies are in Open or SP, and Open's still got an active community.

HC's got that adrenaline rush, but Open's now become a pretty compelling draw.

:)

gogo

T