University of Waterloo (Canada) officially loses sanity

They gave him a Master's degree?!

No, really...they did: http://uwspace.uwaterloo.ca/bitstream/10012/6046/1/Deonarine_Justin.pdf

Not sure how many of you know what I do (outside of play Sacred 2), but I'm currently a Doctoral student in Cognitive Psychology at the University of Waterloo.

I know that it seems like a contradiction that I'm now receiving my Master's degree while in the Doctoral program, but I was actually accepted into Doctoral Studies straight from Undergrad (based on my prior research, which my Master's thesis builds on). A Master's thesis was technically optional.

My main research involves Audiovisual Speech Perception and Illusions (as shown by my Master's thesis above). Here are two video examples (from YouTube) of Audiovisual Speech Perception Illusions:

I also study topics such as Visual Perception and Visual Illusions, Representational Momentum (one aspect of the Psychology of Physics) and will be running a Patient-based study on Memory.

I've recently accepted an offer to move to Queen's University (in Kingston, Ontario) and continue my Doctoral studies in their Brain, Behaviour and Cognitive Sciences program, which is a combination of Cognitive Psychology and Behavioural Neuroscience.

In return for my research this year, I was asked to write a Master's thesis so that I could be granted something for my time at Waterloo. The end result: I've just successfully finished the equivalent to a 2-year Master's program in under a year.

So yeah, just got that good news today and thought I would share.

Congratulations Justin! Your line of research is fascinating, illusion? :o Good luck with the thesis and the hours of work set to come your way. Sacred 2 is for relaxing I guess?

:)

gogo

Yes... definitely huge congratulations on your accomplishment, Mystix!

It may seem a bit weird or comical...

Waterloo: You're leaving for Queens?

Myst: ayup.