My kitty has a broke tooth

My poor old lady of a cat, 21 years!, appeared to me yesterday with a most unfortunate grimace. Her bottom left Canine was jutting straight out at me as she meow/howled, "What's happening to me?!". It just broke my heart to think how upset and hurt she might be. :( She does seem to be ok though with cats it's so difficult to tell when they are in pain. She's eating fine, still very social and purrs as always. So the next step I've got in mind is to start shopping around for an affordable vet to do dental work. Yeesh. I have two that I've used in the past so I'll try them. There's also an animal care college nearby that I hear has great rates.

I'm a little annoyed at the moment though with the vet I've been using for the past two years. I took Star in because of a few difficult to explain symptoms. The most pressing concern I had was a very very large growth that had developed along her lower jaw. The vet looked in her mouth and "said" they would do a biopsy of the growth. Now I'm wondering if that growth was actually a dental abcess... Star was put on antibiotics and even corticalsteroids for a while. She was completely symptom free for a while but only a couple weeks. This all took place over the past winter and this spring.

I've never taken Star in for dental work so I guess I will be now. If anyone has experience with animals I sure could use advice!

I'd recommend starting with the college -- the students can ask their professors for help -- they are learning after all. Then if you need more options-opinions, check with the dentists you have already used.

• Like! 1