Jump to content


Photo

Tapatalk on DarkMatters?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 gogoblender

gogoblender

    Dark Sun Guardian

  • Administrator
  • 32,208 posts
  • Location:Montreal,Quebec, Canada
  • Real Name:Rommel
  • Platform:PC

Posted 13 August 2013 - 02:12 PM

A lot of my friends who own forums add the option so that the community can purchase it for a different reading experience.

Doesn't cost us as forum owners anything, but if a reader clicks it, they purchase the software for their phone so they can have a reportedly better access to forums.

Just discussing this now... anyone heard of it or interested in us having it an offered option?

 

yay or nay

 

:pumpkin:

 

gogo



#2 Ryanrocker

Ryanrocker

    Cobalt Warrior

  • Fellowship
  • 2,038 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Real Name:Ryan
  • Platform:PC
  • Steam Name:Glacierbolt

Posted 13 August 2013 - 02:17 PM

I know almost nothing about Tapatalk, except for all the times I'm on my phone trying to read a forum and have to load an extra 3 pages because of a Tapatalk "This forum supports Tapatalk!  Click here to install now!" ad.  I browse Darkmatters regularly on my phone, and navigation is excellent with our current IP Board providers.  I say nay just for the sole reason of having ads :)



  Check out my Unbended Content!       Or the Unbended Subreddit!

        http://www.youtube.c...ser/Glacierbolt                    http://www.reddit.com/r/unbended 


#3 masteff

masteff

    Wither Mothologist

  • Supporting Member
  • 593 posts
  • Platform:PC

Posted 13 August 2013 - 03:51 PM

I definitely would not install the app if you add Tapatalk to the site. The current mobile site that I get on my Android phone is perfectly acceptable. Most of the features discussed on the Tapatalk website are suited for social forums, not for gamer forums.


"He attacked everything in life with a mix of extraordinary genius and naive incompetence, and it was often difficult to tell which was which." - Douglas Adams

#4 Dragon Brother

Dragon Brother

    Sacred 2 Site Guru

  • FDM Moderator
  • 6,149 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Real Name:Ashley
  • Platform:PC

Posted 13 August 2013 - 07:37 PM

Well I don't get a mobile version of the site when I browse it on my phone so I use the IP.Board skin to make things run smoother/use less data, so a tapatalk version might be useful...



#5 Delta!

Delta!

    Chief Chef Ancaria Cullinary Sciences

  • Supporting Member
  • 4,847 posts
  • Location:Franschhoek, Western Cape
  • Real Name:Theuns
  • Platform:PC
  • Steam Name:theunha

Posted 14 August 2013 - 10:43 AM

I also post from my phone lots of times, and don"t have any problem with the mobile version. I can't purchase any apps for my phone either, not that I need to... so nay thanx from me.

 

Delta!


Delta!

#6 Ysne58

Ysne58

    Mister Einsteinium

  • Sacred Wiki Member
  • 1,938 posts
  • Real Name:Cathleen Anderson

Posted 14 August 2013 - 10:45 AM

I rarely use my android for anything more than taking pictures and phone calls.  I'm not interested in this.



#7 masteff

masteff

    Wither Mothologist

  • Supporting Member
  • 593 posts
  • Platform:PC

Posted 14 August 2013 - 11:55 AM

I don't get a mobile version of the site when I browse it on my phone

 

@Gogo - That might be a good poll to take... if you have a smartphone, does it show FDM in mobile version or not.


"He attacked everything in life with a mix of extraordinary genius and naive incompetence, and it was often difficult to tell which was which." - Douglas Adams

#8 Dragon Brother

Dragon Brother

    Sacred 2 Site Guru

  • FDM Moderator
  • 6,149 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Real Name:Ashley
  • Platform:PC

Posted 14 August 2013 - 03:54 PM

I don't get a mobile version of the site when I browse it on my phone

 

@Gogo - That might be a good poll to take... if you have a smartphone, does it show FDM in mobile version or not.

And then also what phone OS you are using. For what its worth, I'm using a windows phone (Nokia Lumia 920).



#9 Timotheus

Timotheus

    Cobalt Warrior

  • Members
  • 2,328 posts
  • Real Name:Timo
  • Platform:PC

Posted 14 August 2013 - 03:57 PM

And how about the browser settings? Like with (the old) Opera, where you could choose to set the default mode to Desktop or Mobile. IIRC


~ Thylysium Cemetary - Timotheus Level 100 Dark Elf

~ He was stunned to be unexpectedly frazzled in Hell's Ridge.


#10 Dragon Brother

Dragon Brother

    Sacred 2 Site Guru

  • FDM Moderator
  • 6,149 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Real Name:Ashley
  • Platform:PC

Posted 15 August 2013 - 05:22 AM

Yeah, its set to request the mobile site. I do recall getting a mobile site on an old android I had under the IP.Board skin (was a while ago so maybe before the last forum upgrade...), but nothing with this phone.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users