Diablo 3 Battle Tags - What's the story

Hey guys

I've removed the battle tag topic as it was stated that someone had accepted a "friend", didn't know who they were, and got hacked.

Is there a link to this happening we can check out?

We'll work on getting a tag thread moved internally or with higher permission sets for FDM members we've known for a while that are "trusted"

:)

gogo

Sounds weird if that should be possible.

In any case, get an authenticator! Either for a mobile phone (free) or as a physical token ($5 or so). It's very much worth the added security imo.

Sounds weird if that should be possible.

In any case, get an authenticator! Either for a mobile phone (free) or as a physical token ($5 or so). It's very much worth the added security imo.

What is an authenticator? I've never used one before

:blink:

gogo

Some type of two factor authentication (think ATM card and PIN) maybe? The price for the mobile version seems doable.

Edit:

Thanks for the links. Looks like you posted them just before I made my post.

I saw this regarding the mobile version:

Why does the Battle.net Mobile

Authenticator cost different amounts

for different mobile devices? Our primary goal with both the Battle.net Mobile Authenticator application and the physical Battle.net Authenticator is to offer accessible security options to as many players as possible. In the case of the Battle.net Mobile Authenticator, each mobile carrier has different costs associated with the distribution of applications, so the prices for the application relate to the distribution cost. In the case of the iPhone, distribution is free, which is why we are able to offer that version of the Battle.net Mobile Authenticator to players at no cost.

The Android version also seems to be free.

Yup it sucks...always some jerk ruining a good thing. If anyone would like my Battle.Tag number but isn't a full member of FDM, pm me and I'll send it to you