Personal Website

OMGSTUFF

Alright, people, here's the deal.

I'm a writer. Of poetry.

I bought a domain and hosting plan with the intent of displaying poetry/maintaining a blog, etc.

The poetry can't be copy/pastable, so I was going to try to use flash.

It doesn't have to be extremely complicated, I prefer a more minimalistic approach, but it has to look crisp/clean/professional/awesome. :P

I'm not artistically inclined, so I'm thinking flash is a bad idea.

Any suggestions, you tech savy design geniuses?

Sounds like fun OMGstuff. :)

I'd definitely suggest searching for a free template to start with. There are tons of them that can be found if you do a search on the net. Only thing to keep in mind is the version of whatever template you use making sure that the version you get will be compatible with the flash software you'll be using. Oh and there are tons of tutorials as well.

Unfortunately I have yet to get to know flash so my knowledge is very limited. :P

I WILL learn it though. Someday... It's just too cool. :)

ahhh, Omg, I'd forgotten you were a poet! Gotta ask...is it something you just have to do every day? I read somewhere that writers do that...they feel compelled to write. I think it was stephen king who answered, when someone asked him, how does he come up with all his ideas and he just answered he doesn't know. That he just has to write, it's what he does and luckily for him the stuff he writes sells :P

Regarding your website, there's not much that I can offer. :) However, Ari here has her own jewelry site I think. If she catches this thread I'm sure she'll have lots of goodies to offer.

:)

gogo

Another, tech-lite possibility is simply to make image files, .jpg, etc. Get some nice parchment background and use paintshop/photoshop to add in the text. I did something similar on some diaries for a role-playing game character.